orchestra + Large ensemble

Scores published and available for purchase from G.Schirmer/Music Sales and the Australian Music Centre


Oboe Concerto - Neon Highway (2019)

In three movements this concerto encompasses a specific range of oboe material and musical qualities. These are broadly divided into fast music in movements I. and II. And slow music in movement III. In the two outer movements the oboe delves into its melodic and vocal qualities with other individual instruments joining in this form of expression also. In the central movement a move overtly rhythmic drive dominates, hinting at Spanish influences but eventually transforming into large blocks of harmonic information set against the oboe’s melodic and angular solo lines.

Instrumentation: flute, oboe, clarinet in Bb/bass clarinet, bassoon, horn in F, tenor trombone, percussion (1 player: ratchet, 1 wood block, tambourine, bongos, cymbal, low tom-tom), violin1, violin2, viola, cello, double bass (1 player per part). Duration: 18 min.

The Concerto is: Dedicated to Ben Opie. Premiered on the 25th of October 2019 by Ben Opie and the Arcko Symphonic Ensemble in Melbourne, Australia. Commissioned by an anonymous donor, Red Note Ensemble and the Sound Festival, Ben Opie and Timothy Phillips. The work has been assisted by the Australian Government through the Australia Council, its arts funding and advisory body.


Toccata and Fugue (2016)

An orchestration for chamber orchestra of Bach's organ work, Toccata et Fugue in D minor, BWV 565. BUY the SCORE/PARTS

Instrumentation: Flute, oboe, clarinet in B flat, bassoon, horn in F (with mute), percussion (1 player: wood block, tambourine, low tom-tom), strings. Duration: 9 min.


Shades of Forward (2007)

Premiered on the 16th of January 2008 at 20:00 in Kubus, ZKM, Karlsruhe, Germany. Performed 19.07.08 at the Darmstadt Internationale Ferienkurse fur Neue Musik, Orangerie (Studiokonzert IV).  BUY the SCORE/PARTS

Instrumentation: Flute, oboe, clarinet in B flat, bassoon, horn in F, trumpet in C, tenor trombone, violin, viola, cello, double bass. Duration: 9 min.



If on a Winter's Night a Traveller (2005)

Based in part on the Italo Calvino novel of the same name. To buy the score please contact the composer via bcanniere@imgartists.com

Instrumentation: Symphony Orchestra. Duration: 12 min.